Time for Peace Film & Music Awards

"If one believes in nothing, if nothing makes sense, if we could assert no value, whatsoever, everything is permissible and nothing is important. There is no pro or con; the murderer is neither right nor wrong. One is free to stoke the crematory fires, or to give one’s life to the care of lepers. Wickedness and virtue are just accident of whim.... In this case, since we have not higher value to direct our action, we shall aim at efficiency. Since nothing is true or false, good or bad, our principle will become that of showing ourselves to be the most effective, in other words the most powerful. And then the world will not longer be divided into the just and the unjust, but into masters and slaves."

Albert Camus – The Rebel 1951

The Time for Peace Film & Music Awards, launched in New York in 1994 by Marion Einbeck and Robert Einbeck, was a response to the need for popularizing films and music recognized for their artistic quality and humanist criteria. The latter include, among others, values such as tolerance, respect for differences, solidarity, concern for one another, greater understanding between human beings, and freedom of expression.

The films and music were selected by the Time for Peace Board of Directors comprised of professionals in the film and music industries and Time for Peace, and the winners were chosen by a jury composed of ambassadors either to the UN or to the European Council who marked their votes on a special form after screening the DVDs and listening to the CDs.

The intention of Time for Peace was to inspire hope through films and music and to show how heroes who aspire to what is best in a human life could serve as examples for a larger audience.

The Time for Peace Film & Music Awards Ceremony and Dinner Concert have been introduced by personalities such as the President of the United States Bill Clinton, Secretaries General to the United Nations Boutros Boutros-Ghali and Kofi Annan, the Mayor of New York Rudolph Giuliani, Directors of UNESCO Federico Mayor and Koïchiro Matsuura, Presidents of the European Commission Romano Prodi and José Manuel Barroso and the President of the European Council Thorbjørn Jagland.

Among the categories that received awards were: Best Motion Picture, Best Directing, Best First Film, Best Actor in a Leading Role, Best Actress in a Leading Role, Best Screenwriter, Best Music, Best Musical Group, and Music Lifetime Achievement…

Since 1994, Time for Peace Film & Music Awards have been given to, among other artists: Hugues Aufray for his musical career, Charles Aznavour for Colore ma Vie; Bernard Bellefroid for The Boat Race (La Régate); Roberto Benigni for Life is Beautiful (La Vita e Bella); Brenda Blethyn as Elizabeth in London River; Terry Callier for Time Peace: John Carney for Once; Céline Dion and Phil Galdston for Fly; Hawa Essuman for Soul Boy; Anthony Fabian for Skin; Florian Gallenberger for John Rabe; Tony Gatlif for Korkoro (Liberté); Sophie Heldman for Colours in the Dark: Mark Herman for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas; Scott Hicks for Shine; The Hjaltalin for The Trees don’t like the Smoke: Jewel for Pieces of You and A Night Without Amor; Naomi Kawase for The Mourning Forest (Mogari No Mori); Sotigui Kouyate as Ousmane in London River; Caroline Link for Beyond Silence (Jenseits der Stille); Jim Loach for Oranges & Sunshine; Philippe Muyl for Magic; Philippe Muyl for Red Apple; Michael Radford for Il Postino; Alexander Sokurov for Alexandra; Steven Spielberg for Schindler’s List; Steven Spielberg for Amistad; Sounds of Blackness for Time for Healing; Sting for If on a Winter’s Night; Jan Sverák for Kolya; Hilary Swank for her performance as Erin Gruwell in Freedom Writers; Charles Trenet for his musical career; Galina Vishnevskaya for her performance as Alexandra in Alexandra; Xaver von Treyer for the original film score of Soul Boy; Robin Williams for his performance as Sean McGuire in Good Will Hunting; Michael Winterbottom for A Mighty Heart; Stevie Wonder for Conversation Peace; Edward Zwick for Blood Diamond

The idea underlying these awards was that Art and Culture are important catalysts. Films and music have a strong impact on an understanding of the world, while their creation can potentially have a positive influence as well. Show business artists relay messages that are seen and heard by millions of people who, in addition to their role as spectators, are able to integrate the actor’s roles into their own lives.

The paramount objective for social impact, which was the mission of the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards, was to motivate the film and music industry to produce films and music that convey humanist values and to make the public, and particularly the young, receptive to living these humanist values in their everyday life, guided by the cinema and music.

The responsibility of the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards was to expand its efforts so that people will come to associate pop culture with social understanding, cooperation, and constructive behavior.

Launching the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards happened solely because Marion and Robert Einbeck financed it through their personal assets, financial and otherwise. After several years of private activity, the Einbecks obtained the support of various companies and foundations that then financed their initiative. Without any substantial aid during the past few years, Marion and Robert Einbeck entered into debt in order to continue the annual ceremony.

Be that as it may, they are happy to note that their eighteen-year long efforts in promoting the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards have set an example for the world, in that other organizations and societies saw this approach as a positive movement and have since invested in similar actions as they became more open to the popular arts of film and music. Thus, ceremonies and festivals that link the concepts of peace and humanist values have been born and cinematographic and musical creations, as well as countless show business artists, have been honored by awards that were inspired by the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards.

Henceforth, a new page of the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards is to be written without the need for any intervention in its future by the original founders, Marion and Robert Einbeck.